Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

what material used for high temperture molds would like to make jewlery molds??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what material used for high temperture molds would like to make jewlery molds??

I am very new to 3d printing I haven't even bought one yet. I am trying to find a way to make molds for silver jewelry. I want to print out two sides input silver let it dry then open the mold. Is this possible the melting point for silver is 962 degrees c. What kind of materials are available. If I cant make a 2 piece mold would a 1 piece mold with a small hole on top work to let it melt then break the plastic mold will the silver ring hold shape? At what price are these materials and how long would it take to print. Would I need a special printer. I would like the printer to be under $1500 us. Open to any suggestions.
    Thank you

Hmm I don't think that there are any filaments that would meet your temperature needs, however what you could do would be to print your jewellery in something like PLA and then create a mold around your finding and use the lost wax method of casting.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NFnfLsrSuAM

Comment

Lost wax casting is the key here. You could not print, on a conventional printer, one that does not cost less than £500,000 material to make a moold to withstand 900C temperatures.

FDM printers work with plastics that are extruded at temperatures from 200-300C therefore they would not work. Using laser sintering you may be able to produce material with this sort of specification but we could not say for sure.

Print in PLA or another material and then burn that out with the silver. I assume that the detail required is an issue with this method but we have no experience of lost wax casting so cannot comment for sure.

Comment

Originally posted by iDig3DPrinting View Post
        .........have no experience of lost wax casting so cannot comment for sure.