Da Vinci 1.0 3D Printer Reviews

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Da Vinci 1.0 3D Printer Reviews

Here is a sticky thread for Da Vinci 1.0 reviews. Only Da Vinci 1.0 reviews may be posted here. Will make this first post a little nicer with some basic info about the Da Vinci ASAP.

I just purchased the da Vinci 1.0 All In One.

I tracked this on kickstarter and was compelled to invest in order to obtain thier three in one (scanner, laser cutter, CNC) but I'm glad I waited.
    The machine is not well constructed for CNC, and the capability of the laser cutter is not what I wanted. So I purchased the AiO via Walmart Online.

Here's a tip: Walmart had a sale and I got it for $639. I saved over $100 and it was free delivery. I used that $100 to buy a 4 year product protection plan so I can have it replaced when and if the need arises. Once the plan expires, I anticipate being able to change out components myself. I am an electronic engineer so no biggy.

I know XYZprinting is a new company. So I expect teething issues. The documentation, unpacking instructions, and software were all out of date compared with the unit I unpacked. So far I have updated software and manuals twice in three days. But so far, for the better. I actively try to debug and report issues to them, and they seem to solve what they can with the new software drops.

My first print was straight from the LCD menu on the printer, the lion sample. Printed just over 2 hours and the print quality was awesome using the supplied filament. Very happy with that. I have spent several hours playing with the settings for the built in scanner. I also purchased the handheld scanner.

First scan was terrible. I selected a dark object made of metal and ofcourse uncalibrated. So no surprises. I got a software update following an unhandled exception, and used a more appropriate object to scan. Calibrated (again) and presto - success!. Very good result of a fairly complex object.