Senior Project Viability

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Senior Project Viability

I am an engineering student in the US and my senior project is a new type of hotend. I am curious what the market looks like for my proposed product. I am hoping to get feedback as a potential user and, ideally, some advice on how to research it's viability as an actual product.

I cannot disclose anything else, but I have the following stats:
    heating time (22C-210C) ~12 seconds
    power requirements 3-15 watts
    size - comparable to existing heating blocks

I am curious what kind of price you might be willing to pay, how likely you might be to purchase it as a retrofit (assuming compatible mounting method), and if there is some place where I can get more information about the market.
    Thanks for your help!

Good luck I think everything practical has been attempted?

Get your mother to do a web search "3D printer hotend"

I guess CIA can buy secret hotend?

1.75mm / 3 mm? all metal? 210 C not high enough
    mounting?

look at deltaprinter mini
    http://deltaprintr.com/shop/parts-an...e/mini-hotend/
    E3D
    http://e3d-online.com/

Comment

Cozmicray, I think there is huge room for improvement in the 3D printing space, imo it is not even close to optimised. We will see substantial changes within the next 5-10 years unless the IP gets locked down (which is what delayed 3D printing so much since the 1980's). The student is likely talking about an inductive heater or vaporisation tech (basically using a heat transfer technology that is faster than straight conduction).