First time printer purchaser asking for advice and guidance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First time printer purchaser asking for advice and guidance

I'm completely new to the world of 3d printers but have been doing research on the subject and have come to the point I really need to focus on what printer I should get and it's obvious I need some people with actual experience to give some advice and feedback.

I'm looking for a printer to expand my hobby projects( mainly miniature war game related and prop making) along with making household repair parts. There will most likely bit of print jobbing for friends as well to pay for supplies. With that said the ability to print ABS is a must meaning I'd need a heated bed and a fully enclosed printer will probably be more practical than an open machine. I'm looking for a printer with a nominal 6"x6"x6" print volume or slightly larger to accommodate my predicted prints. I want a printer that is upgradable and modifiable both on the hardware side as well as the software/firmware side so it can retain functionality as long as possible before I would have to move on to a "new" printer. A removable build plate of some sort is preferable as stock but not mandatory. Proprietary filaments or other supplies is a non starter I don't like to be locked into only one source for anything. A printer that has a reputable US based distributor/retailer is greatly preferred. For price range I'm thinking of $800 to $1200 preferably less than $1000 so I can swing getting Simplify 3d right off the bat.

Ok with that said my list of possible choices so far are:

Flashforge Creator Pro

Wanahao Duplicator 4S

Powerspec Ultra Pro

QIDI dual extruder printer

From my research the Flashforge seems to be a solid choice but on the high end of my price range.