Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Maintenance 3dprinters a lot of work?

I'm still very new to all this, but anyway:

Now 3d printers become more affordable every day, I'm getting more and more interested in maybe buying one.

However, when discussing this subject with a friend of mine, he told me 3D printers really take up a lot of your time. According to him it's not like an inkprinter: a device you turn on when you need it and turn it off when you're done with it. You have to clean it from time to time (even when you haven't used it in soem time) and really does cost a lot of time.

Is he exaggerating or is the maintenance of the printer indeed quite a lot of work?

From what I can gather the maintenance really depends on what model you choose and what conditions you have to work with. I have heard though with most models that as long as there are not extreme changes in environment such as heat or humidity that they really don't fall out of calibration too far once they have been set. As far as cleaning I think it falls down to whether you only focus on one material or if you change filaments a lot as there are differences in the heat requirements for PLA and ABS. If you stick to one fimament type you should be fine with only an occasional cleaning of your hot end. It also depends on if you use a heated bed or painter's tape on your print bed if you are gentle then one application of tape can be used for many printings. But then again I am only going off research from other 3der's.

Comment