3D printing rookie seeking advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3D printing rookie seeking advice

Hello All. I'm brand new to this. I just got my first 3d-printer, an Ender 3 Pro, about a week ago, have got it setup and running. Now that I fixed the assembly instructions in my first post here, I have some questions about using this thing. I bought this with making structural objects in mind. and have been able to make gears of 1"-1 1/2" with around 0.005" runout, Pretty darn good for a machine that's yet to really be tuned. But, as was destined to happen, I have run across some problems.

I printed the gears with .25 layer height, 100% fill, no problem.

I found this pcb vise I want to print https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:21357

I'm slicing in cura, now using 0.15 settings, 100%infill, "print speed" set from it's default of 60mm/s to 30mm/s, which in reality adjusts several parameters to 1/2 of their value. After the bracket failed, I reduced the "inner wall speed" to 20mm/s from it's 40mm/s that it calculated from my 30mm/s "print speed" setting. It had the same result.

Under "travel" I changed the Combing option from "all" to "within infill" It laid down the pattern beautifully directly on my magnetic build pad first try and it's printing very nicely as I type this. I believe this corrected my problem. My questions are, 1st off, to those that know this stuff, did it?, or did I just get lucky? If it did, is there a better option/parameter to use to fix it? Should I leave this option this way in general?

I'll include a picture of the bracket base, and of my failed print on a raft. In my picture, I pulled it off the bed hot, so it warped up, and the outer perimeter detached, but the way the ovals turned into teardrop shapes and the extreme string was the problem.

I thank all who take the time to read this, and even more so, any who can help me get a grasp on these concepts.
    Thank you - Mike00