Looking for my first printer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for my first printer

Looking for my first printer, been watching the 3d printer tech evolve pretty closely for past few years and im finally ready to dive in. But there are so many on the market ive got to a point im having a hard time pulling the trigger on one.

Ill start by listing what i want out of it. I want to be able to print usable parts, im not a artist type looking to print knick knacks to put on your desk or figurines, im looking to print parts that work for way to many hobbies to list. Thus PLA printing ability is pretty much irreverent to me as PLA is useless for structural parts IMO, it cant even take sunlight. Maybe useful for prototyping but not for actual will see use type of parts. So the focus will be on ABS printing ability to start off as at least ABS can take some abuse. But where i really want to be is having the ability to print in Nylon.

So basically i need a budget printer thats great with ABS, and has the ability to be upgraded down to road to handle nylon. Then if that goes well i may later purchase a nylon specific printer.

So im looking for a starter printer, i realize i may need to upgrade to get to where i really want to be but to start will just get a budget printer. Budget around $500 for base printer, upgrades can be ontop of this.

Absolute must haves, dealbreakers if you will:

- Open sourced, do not want to be locked to one vendor for anything
    - Heated bed either stock or available as option down the road, i understand this is needed for nylon printing.
    - Ability to upgrade to hardened steel nozzle, again something needed to print Nylon.
    - Ability to heat nozzle/filament up to high enough temps to use Nylon
    - at least 6"x6" printing surface
    - Would prefer a kit, so i can assemble it myself and get to know it and how it functions but this is not a 100% dealbreaker.